top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJenna

Worst Book Hangover EVER


The book that gave me the absolute worst Book Hangover was We Were the Lucky Ones by Georgia Hunter.


She masterfully weaves the separate narratives of several characters from the same Jewish family during the Nazi Occupation of Radom, Poland that started in 1939.


I am drawn to WWII literary fiction and 4 out of 5 of my worst Book Hangovers are from this category. But We Were the Lucky Ones REALLY hit my heart and I couldn't pick up another book for about a week and a half because I was still mulling over the various scenes that were based on true events.


Outwardly, I was going through the motions. At work I would be able to carry on a conversation and complete tasks, but every single moment I didn't have something to capture my attention I was reliving the book.


I'm both excited and terrified to reread this book. I really want to, but it's almost definitely not a good idea. I do, however, recommend it to EVERYONE.


Which book gave you the worst hangover? Did you ugly cry or just not want to crawl up out of the world? Did you feel like you'd made friends with the characters? Did you fall in love (fictional romances are the best romances)?

15 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page