top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJenna

Review: Year of the Witching



From the moment I started reading The Year of the Witching by Alexis Henderson, I could not put it down. In the moments I was absolutely required to stop reading it, I continued to think about it.


I've never been truly interested in Mormon-esque families with polygamy and sister-wives, but something about the world of Bethel captivated me. It's quite possible that the discontent and sense of dystopian undercurrent were evident within the first few paragraphs and that caught my attention. I love a good dystopian novel and The Year of the Witching is more than just that.


The intriguing duality of Immanuelle's world cast between right and wrong, light and dark, cultivated and wild, magic and religion illuminates the corrupt and immoral patriarchy that rules over Bethel with an iron grip. The plot explodes with the first of four plagues brought on by Immanuelle's coming of age and she works with the eldest son of the town's Prophet to find a way to end them before her entire town is slaughtered.


I would definitely consider The Year of the Witching to be a dark mood read but it was like nothing I've ever read and the entire story was lit with just enough hope to keep it from feeling gloomy. I absolutely cannot recommend this book enough and thank NETGALLEY for the Advanced Reader's Copy.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page